Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. with the statement?

There always is a dispute that the government should invest in railways instead of roads. We all imagine travelling through the railway sleeping coach on vacation, in the same manner, we all consider riding on newly paved four lane highway to our offices, then why should the government must spend on just one? The railway provides great facilities for long distance travel as well as local trips, such as, railways are a lot cheaper and more comfortable comparatively to travelling by road, to avoid traffic many eco-friendly people prefer to travel in a metro, these facilities require frequent upgrades to provide better service. Additionally, maintenance of railway infrastructure, which has to be done on a routine basis requires money. Nevertheless, every new govt. comes with a portfolio to extend railway routes, which should be done within the same budget. Similarly, roads are also a very efficient way to travel within a town for our daily life, if the ministry doesn’t spend on road maintenance, they would be in a disastrous condition, this might be inconvenient for people to travel. Furthermore, unpaved roads can cause unnecessary traffic delays, it is government’s responsibility to look after such issues which requires investment. For example, new highway construction, traffic lights installation, signboards arrangements and so on, everything has to be taken into account when distributing funds. To conclude, both means of travel are particularly important each has its own expenditures distinct from one another, two of them require funds to operate. In my opinion, a country's official should allocate a proportional amount of budget for each.