Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. with this statement?

At present, most government spend some part of their budget on not only public services, but also the arts, such as, music and theatre. In my opinion, although a proportion of government spending should be channeled towards this sector, however, most should be spent on public services. It is very important that the governments spend a significant amount of its budget on public services because these are our hospitals, roads, schools and so on and they determine the quality of life we live. Take for example, the United Kingdom, the government has recently reduced public spending on health and education, which has resulted in an increased hospital treatments waiting lists and fewer teachers, both of which will have further adverse effects on education standards and health. This demonstrates the importance of ensuring that a large proportion of government money is spent on public services as it is the only way to maintain the welfare of the populace. However, this does not mean that the arts should be completely neglected for these reasons. Firstly, it is difficult for many arts institutions to generate income witout the help of the government as a lot of people are not prepared to pay high entrance fees for places such as art galleries or theatres, so without some help from the government, such places may have to shut down. Secondly, the arts have an important impact on our quality of life, with many people deriving great pleasure in going to see music and theatre performances. Lastly, the performing and literary arts such as dance and books help keep our culture, heritage and history alive for the future generations. In conclusion, although the majority of government spending should be directed towards public services, however, spending some money on the arts is also essential and should continue because it is not a waste of money. A balance is required to ensure that public services are maintained while the arts remain available to all.