Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

It is argued by some that the government should utilise funds in betterment of public services rather than spending on arts and recreation, while others feel it is right to invest in the latter. I disagree with the notion and this essay will highlight the reasons for my opinion and support it with relevant examples. Firstly, in this era of globalisation and technological advancement, it has been observed that a lot of our ancient history is becoming irrelevant. The arts, theatres and other such facilities, to a great extent, depict our culture and talent. It is therefore vital that a portion of the state's investment be reserved for these recreational facilities. For instance, 11% of the Indian annual budget is allotted to creative arts and cinema. It has substantially aided in preserving classical forms of music and dance. Secondly, it will also help with the country's economy. Proper investments will lead to an increase in quality and quantity of art sites, like museums, which will gradually attract tourists. Therefore, tourism will blossom and will further boost the economy and prove beneficial to the government. For example, Ramoji film city, situated in Hyderabad has been known for attracting tourists from across the country since 5 decades. In Conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that investing in the arts such as songs, movies and other activities is necessary and beneficial for the country. Public services are also significant and shouldn't be overlooked. I would suggest that the revenue generated can further be used to invest in public facilities.