Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

Government spending of money on arts like music and theatre is a waste of money rather should utilize in public service. I partially disagree with the statement and will explain why government funding on arts is not a total waste on money rather has its own advantage and has some necessities as well. To begin with, government financial spending on arts such as music and theatre is not a waste of money because it is a part of our culture and it is necessary to preserve the arts forms in order to aid the tradition and culture from extinction. Moreover, financial aid to arts and the artist is important as many artists meet their end totally depends it. Therefore, they should be get enough financial support from government. Additionally, government funding on arts like music and theatre is not a utter waste of money instead they can get advantage over this by encouraging the tourism in terms of arts and it is an income for the government. For instance, Kadhakali is one of the famous traditional arts popular among tourist who are constantly visiting Kerala so promoting and special funding to this form of art definitely bring money to government. On the other hand, eventhough, arts like music and theatre should get importance and financial support, authorities should focus more on other areas like public service. For example, health, education, infrastructure has been the back bone of nation so government should acts in a balance way hence focus on public service also ease citizens life. To sum up, government investment on arts such as music and theatre is not a total waste of money rather can make into a profitable source of income by enhance this type of art forms whereas, public service is the paramount responsibility of a government.