Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth.

People have different views on how genetic engineering affects our society nowadays. Although our lives or ecosystems might be harmed if we use this modifying technology impropriate, I believe the benefit from it outweigh the drawbacks. The negative effects of genetic engineering are often argued in two fields, which are food production and the cloning of humans. The genetically modified crops might damage the whole ecosystems by resisting the harm from insects or even killing them. This might cause the unbalance echo and result in certain predators’ extinctions. For example, though modifying crops have helped crops’ survival, those insects, which relied on these crops as a food source are going to disappear because of the change. Consequently, the predators of the insects might also find it hard to search for food and extinguish after. When it comes to the cloning, it is usually concerned as the animals’ or humans’ decease and body organ replacement. No matter it is a solution of saving lives, it has often argued for its morality. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that human will find ways to cope with risks and use genetic technologies in an appropriate way. From the food production perspective, genetically engineering could be the solution when some natural disasters happen such as famine or flood. By choosing better genes of crops and cultivating them indoors to break the regions or weather limited, has solved the food problem for human. In addition, the organs cloning can be done to improve or save one’s health such as transplant purposes are used in medical cures to save lives. In conclusion, it is certain that we should not ignore the cons of genetically engineering, I personally think that if we regulate and use it properly, it will save more lives than being harmful.