Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

Views often differ on whether or not the arts involving musical and theatrical entertainments should be the ones which advisably and worthily take advantage of funds available from the government coffers instead of community services such as education and health care. Personally, I absolutely concur with the conception of investing in artistic projects for some rational reasons. Arts, hitherto, become symbolic and specific characteristics of particular nations which mesmerize and attract foreigners’ first glances and impression on those nations. Governmental expenditures, therefore, should be allocated to arts to aggrandize and glorify the uniquely ostensive splendours of divergent countries. It can be exemplified by Mona Lisa, an one-off masterpiece of Italian artists, have become a representative image and symbol of Italy. Undeniably, a country’s artistic work is considered as an imprint on foreign people about it, which is a way to enhance and promote the tourism development. Furthermore, some kinds of art could maintain and gratify people’s satisfaction and happiness. Music, for instance, is prevalently opted for recreational delight. It is scientifically substantiated that during the process of absorbing sounds of a composition, human’s brain releases dopamine, a chemical creates motivational pleasure and addiction, supporting the process of convalescing of people who suffer from stress and depression. Hence, the government should provide fundings for reinforcing and fortifying the art work rather than other social services because the art may constitute a therapeutic remedy in some situations. To sum up, notwithstanding arguments for and against investment in the arts, I believe that spending money from government coffers is beneficial and imperative in the contemporary day for countries’ symbol and the artistic exertion to therapies.