Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

Gender equality remains a very topical issue in this generation. The topic of whether or not colleges should accept the same number of the sexes per course offered remains a controversial issue. In my opinion, I totally disagree with the notion that universities should allow equal entry of the genders to study each subject because admissions into schools should be based solely on merit and intellectual ability. Education is primarily the bedrock of any advanced society. First and foremost, the majority of people assume that because of the sensitivity of the gender equality movement, the technicality should also be applied to education. However, this has only deleterious effects as students who have the flair and academic capability to excel in certain fields might not be able to do so due to  restricted access, thereby stifling economic growth in the process. For example, I got admission into medical school as number thirty-three on the merit list. Upon resumption, the male to female ratio was about, 1: 5. Looking back, if the college of medicine had considered admitting equal numbers of the sexes, I might not have been able to accomplish my dreams of becoming a medical doctor. Secondly, it is public knowledge that some subjects are preferred by one sex compared to the other. For instance, most women apply to study nursing while men prefer to go into building and construction. This is not to say that both sexes cannot be found in all fields of life. However, it cannot be denied that not admitting students based on what they have interests in can result in the breeding of people with no job satisfaction. This can result in increased sucicide rates and diminished job enthusiasm. In conclusion, the idea of universities accepting equal numbers of male amd female students is becoming increasingly popular. In my opinion, I strongly believe that people should get accepted into colleges bases on their academic performance irrespective of their genders.