Global warming is becoming a huge threat to human existence on this planet What are the causes of this What are the effects

Climate change has become one of the major threats that could greatly affect humans' life on earth. The main cause of this problem is the increasing level of CO2 in the atmosphere and one of its effects is the rising of sea levels. The primary cause of this predicament is the increasing carbon concentration in the planets' atmosphere. CO2 is a greenhouse gas that is mainly produced by the combustion of fossil fuels, which are mostly used by humans to run their cars or vehicles. This is to say that there is a significant relationship between car ownership with the CO2 level. As the number of cars on the road rises the carbon dioxide also increases. For instance, a study conducted by the World Health Organization revealed that car ownership and the level of CO2 in the atmosphere a decade ago was significantly lower as compared today. One of the effects of this huge issue that could happen is the rising of sea levels. This is because as the concentration of carbon dioxide becomes higher the global temperature increases. The increase of earth' s temperature contributes to the rapid pace of melting ice sheets particularly in Antarctica and Green Land. As a result the melted ice adds to the expansion of seawater which causes the increase in its level. For example, research done by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration found that the sea levels rose by 7. 5 cms every 10 years because of the melting of major ice reservoir in the earth. In conclusion, the rising global temperature poses a threat to human race and this is because of the increasing CO2 concentration in our atmosphere and this results in the rising sea levels.