Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth.

Scientists now have the capacity of revealing the secrets of gene codes, and have advanced genetic engineering to new levels that will bring huge benefits. Meanwhile, some people fear that these advances may well lead to global catastrophes. So, there are two camps of thought which I will now discuss further and offer give my own viewpoint. Those in favour technology, claim the application of genetic technology will bring help to the whole of society, in people have cared about for thousands of years. For example, people have been seeking an effective way to extend their lifespans from the Qin dynasty in China to the present day. Therefore, with the development of genetic studies, living forever may no longer be a dream for humankind. Experiments and other relative research on insects have shown the possibility of extending life. In other fields, gene research is also playing an important role in changing people’s lives. For instance, promising transgenic applications have increased the supply of food, thus possibly ending starvation in some parts of the world. On the other side, objectors can not be persuaded by the positives. Present examples are difficult to explain, but previous experiments done some decades ago, the example of Dolly the sheep being apposite, did indicate that meddling with creating clones was not entirely safe. Those who oppose insist that geneticists are violating natural principles, and is cloning, which causes the greatest concern, and regard it as an unexpected threat to humans while believing it is also a serious ethical issue. In conclusion, we cannot deny what the both sides have valid points, but in my view, I think we should not consider the issue so extremely. As society develops, we face many tough choices. So, we cannot halt the exploration and application of new scientific discoveries, but we also need to caution against the consequences of misuse.