Fossil fuels are essential for producing electricity, powering industry and fueling transportation. However, one day we will reach a point when all the world’s fossil fuels have been depleted. How can we conserve these resources? What are some alternatives to fossil fuels?

Non-renewable sources such as crude oil play a very important role in production of energy and power for the industries and transportation. Due to their over usage, these sources are close to depletion. This essay will discuss methods to save these resources from getting depleted and also suggest other methods. A major percentage of the non-renewable sources are used for transportation. To save these fuels, some methods like, promotion of the use of public transport and sharing the vehicles by the people travelling similar routes can be encouraged. For example, government of Delhi has made a rule of Odd and Even wherein, people can use their vehicles on specific allotted days depending upon their number plate being odd or even. Hence, this action encouraged increased use of metros and car-pooling among the people, thereby reducing the consumption of these resources. As these sources are non-renewable, other options such as, hydroelectricity and wind electricity for generation of power can be some excellent alternatives, as they are freely available and in ample amounts. Moreover, the production of energy from water and air does not produce any harmful gases that can cause air pollution. For instance, a recent study suggested that the generation of the power from water is a more economical and predictable process. Therefore, these alternative sources of energy show promising growth for the future. In conclusion, fossil fuels play a critical part in energy generation for industrial work and transportation. This essay discussed that, promoting the use of public transport and car-pooling can be some methods to save these resources. In addition, production of power from water and air are upcoming substitutes for depleting sources.