formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. why are these exams used by schools and universities? what other types of assessment are possible?

Examination at the end of each term is a part of the curriculum in school education which is common in most parts of the world. This essay will discuss that the purpose of these evaluations is to judge the amount of knowledge gained by the student during that semester and alternative methods to evaluate are the research and assigning projects. Written exams have been used by institutions since time immemorial to evaluate their pupils. One of the primary reasons being a convenient way to gauge the academic level of the student which is why they have widespread acceptance. For example, a majority of the Maharashtra university schools have a four term pattern to assess the students on which feedback is given which helps them understand what subjects they need to work hard on before the board examination. For these reasons, theory exams have been widely used by schools and universities. Even though written exams are time tested methods for evaluation, research and projects are alternative methods which are getting widespread acceptance. These methods help teachers to evaluate the understanding of the subject along with the practical application of the knowledge gained by the students. For instance, a nearby school conducted a science competition amongst students based on the subjects taught to them. They not only enjoyed making the projects but also demonstrated the extensive understanding and application of education gained. Hence, research and projects are some of the best alternative methods of evaluation. To conclude, term end exams are commonly used method to examine pupils throughout the world. Written examination methods are convenient to evaluate the knowledge of students, therefore used widely. However, research and projects are some of the creative ways of assessments other than conventional patterns.