Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

In many countries, the performance of students is evaluated by means of conducting regular exams by the end of every semester. The examinations provide the education institutes a yardstick to assess the students effectively. There are alternate ways to evaluate the academic skills of the scholar, such as assigning assignments and projects to name a few. The formal examinations are considered the most reliable form of assessing the progression of the pupil. Most importantly, conducting these exams allows the stakeholders to acknowledge the intellectual and academic knowledge of each individual with a physical evidence of the document. For instance, if a student scores low in assessment despite his excellent conduct in papers, the student can get his results reevaluated in order to rectify any unintentional error in marking. It is for this reason the formal examinations are considered convenient and reliable. Traditional examinations are not the only way to assess the pupil; there are numerous ways to evaluate how much the student have progressed. Instead of conducting exams, the mentors can assign mini projects and assignments which could involve the mixture of the syllabus. The students will implement their learnings during undertaking those tasks and submit it to their teachers once accomplished. As an example, the instructor can assign a practical project to its students which will not only help them to evaluate their performance but also expose the pupil to practicality and research. Overall, assessments are not only limited to conventional exams, but extents to the unconventional means of evaluation. To sum up, the conventional examinations are the medium through which the work of scholars is assessed by the end of each educational cycle around the world. Perhaps, the traditional way of assessment is tried-and-tested method. Nonetheless, there are other unique solutions available to examine the students.