Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. with this statement? In what other ways the assessment of a child can be done?

Student’s assessment can only be performed through the conventional style of the scheduled examination. Weekly assignments, monthly projects and other such type of analysis are considered to be ineffective. This essay agrees that the organized style of exams is better because of them being less stressful and more reliable. There are numerous advantages of choosing official exams on a specified date over continuous valuation methods. Firstly, the student does not have to keep stressing throughout the semester. This happens when the children are over-burdened with project deadlines of several subjects all the time. There have been numerous surveys conducted to analyse student’s responses on the modernized approach of tests and the majority of the students voted against it stating that they are not able to manage their hobbies. This results in the unproductive human mind as a result of emotional disturbance. Secondly, the innovation in testing structure is not trustworthy as students have found alternatives for completing their homework or their quizzes with the help of their seniors. This is because of the unreliability of the pattern where students have the flexibility of completing the work without teacher’s surveillance. For example, open-book assessment of FITT courses allows candidates to give their exam anytime and anywhere, thereby making it easy for the students seeking help from the toppers. A Combination of traditional and modern approach can innovate an efficient system by giving the advantage of both testing. Students can be asked to work on one project throughout the semester and sit for the final exam at the end. Alternatively, open book exams can be monitored through web camera by respective professors. Hence, changes can be made to overcome the disadvantages to analysing performance on a continual basis. In conclusion, I firmly agree that structured and conservative approach to examinations should never be replaced with the continual assessment techniques. Although, after taking into consideration the nature of the course, an alternative of combining both styles can be developed and implemented with certain terms and conditions.