Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects are not satisfactory way to do this. with this statement?

People often consider that one of the effective methods of measuring students’ performance is through formal assessments, but can we underestimate the role of projects and coursework? Although regular exams play a vital role in such evaluations, I think we should not overlook projects and course work that measures practical knowledge. This essay will refute why we should not ignore such informal assessments. Firstly, informal projects and assignments usually probes into the hidden talents of students. These areas measure skills, which are often ignored in formal assessments. Formal exams, for example, may dissolute traits like research and interpretation that is a significant students’ trait. Similarly, many course-works and projects require students to visit fields. This in turn helps students to build rapport with individuals and make them pragmatic, however, formal examination usually ignores such aspects. Another benefit of informal examinations is that it is comparatively convenient than formal exams. For the reason that students need not physically attend exam halls, it can be concluded anywhere. They can, in fact, submit their assignments online, and in most cases, it is flexible. It is also convenient because students may not require intensive learning hours as in formal exams, and as stated by some researches, it is an effective learning process, for such informal assignments have higher retention ratio. In conclusion, since informal exams measures students’ unseen talents, help them in relation building, and as it is convenient, flexible and easier to retain, such exams should be prioritized. I would, therefore, prefer informal assessments over formal exams.