For some people, shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development? <br>

Shopping, by its definition, is an activity through which people visit shops and markets and purchase things and commodities they need. However, this is not always the truth and the terms like ‘hobby shopping’ and ‘shopaholic’ refer the excessive passions and inclination people have towards shopping and purchasing things that they rarely need. In my opinion, shopping habit that allure people to purchase things which they do not need is a bad habit and has more negative aspects. To begin with, we live in a materialistic world and people take pride on the earthly possessions they have. Our moral should be in helping people who are in need, not amassing our own fortune. The excessive shopping habit thus diminishes the true humanity and nurture a hypocrite mentality among people. It is a well-known fact that if someone starts purchasing things that he does not need at all, someday he will not be able to purchase things that he really needs. Second, shopping is an activity that without any doubt gives a shopper a sense of satisfaction and pleasure. However, if someone starts shopping too much, he is bound to be restricted to this activity only while his time for socialising and outdoor activities would be consumed by the time he will spend for shopping. Purchasing things that we do not need is a habit that makes us greedy and imprudent. If we allow ourselves to practice this, we will surely deviate from other morality and quality of life. Finally, pleasure shopping supporters are contented about the fact that they are doing something that makes them happy and they think it is a good way to purchase for the future and who knows when we need what! However, they do not realise that they are spending money and time on something that has no real value. Shopping should be for fulfilling our necessity, not for our personal pleasure. In conclusion, shopping as an entertainment is not a good trend in our personal and social life. We should invest our time and money on more productive activities to make the world even better.