For some people shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

There is a controversial issue about the necessity of purchasing as a sort of amusement. Some social workers think that it is a disadvantageous trend, while some businessmen believe that it is a beneficial for the economy. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of positive effects. Let us start with reasons why some social workers state that shopping for fun is a detrimental tendency. The first reason is that it is a wasteful type of entertainment. People often spend much more, when they go shopping as a leisure activity, because they both visit store more frequently and buy unnecessary things, such as another smart phone or dressing. Another reason is that a growing generation concentrate on shopping at the expense of education. Students can shift their priority from study to shopping as entertainment, since they tend to follow popular trends in society, which causes a detrimental impact on their academic performance. Therefore, it is reasonable to label shopping for entertainment as a negative development. However, some entrepreneurs claim that this type of entertainment is a beneficial for community. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, it significantly increases the trade turnover. Stores can sell and then order more goods from supply, when people visit them more often for entertainment, so customers fully satisfy their needs, and businessmen make more profits. Secondly, it generates more taxes. The more goods stores sell, the more money they generate as tax, which allows the government to allocate more funding for different social programs. As a result, it is rational to say that shopping for entertainment is a positive effect for the governmental welfare. In conclusion, even though some workers advocate that shopping for amusement has many negative impacts on society, I think that it brings more advantages for the economy for the above mentioned reasons.