For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of

Art is a form of expressing emotions or creativity. There are various forms of art such as performance art (Films, theatre) Literary Arts (Classics, literature) and Pictorial Art (Paintings, Sculptures) to name a few. Art depicts the cultural heritage and traditions of a country. It is true that, the present generation tends to value science, technology and business over arts. Success, in the present day, is measured in terms of the monetary benefits and luxuries available. It is an undeniable fact that artists survive on a low income, until they achieve recognition, and an art takes up a huge amount of time to be completed. For instance, I have a friend, who is a struggling artist at the moment, and she lives in a small one room studio apartment to make ends meet. Moreover, Globalization has led people to believe that the future of the world is in the hands of science and technology. These two reasons, in my opinion, are the causes for lack of interest in the present generation towards art. People need to be made aware of the rich culture which art attempts to project. Government should provide relief to artists and encourage young artists to exhibit their work by opening exhibitions free of cost. Schools should conduct competitions such as painting, theatre, dance, etc to spark the interests of the students. Workshops in theatre & as well as painting should be conducted to encourage young minds. Parents should take children to exhibitions and also inspire children to follow their passion and dreams.