In order to study at university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free for everyone.

Fees for higher education are expensive and not affordable for everyone so according to some university should be free for everyone regardless of their background. In my opinion, I agree that university education ought to be free as it will greatly benefit both individuals and society. A good reason to abolish university fees is that it gives people whether they are rich or poor equal rights. At present, students from poor background are prevented from entering university because they are unable to pay the fees. This excludes a large proportion of society and is discriminatory which can be avoided by getting rid of the tuition fees. Another point to consider is that having no fees at university means that students will no longer have to work at the same time as studying to cover their costs. For example, around three quarters of all students in the UK have to work either full time or part time while studying to pay their fees. Free higher education should, therefore, produce better results as students will able to apply themselves to their studies exclusively. Finally, free university education will benefit society in the long run, for the simple reason that it will open up higher education to a wider range of the population. This will result in increasing the number of educated people. In other words, having a greater resource of skilled and knowledgeable professionals will bring greater rewards to society as a whole. Moreover, it can bring more economic advantages to a country that shows itself to be prosperous and leading in various fields.