Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up. Discuss and give your opinion.

For a span of nine to ten months, a woman endures a phenomenal amount of psychological and emotional changes which come with pregnancy and childbirth. Due to this, the decision of having a child or not rests with the willingness of her. There has been an ideology spinning around that, as the child is conceived by the woman and was solely her decision, the entire responsibility of the kid's upbringing rests on her shoulders. I personally believe that this ideology comes with a set of flaws. Firstly, the decision of childbearing solely rests with the woman. However, there are also other factors which come into play. The financial stability of the two parents is a big decision point. Having a child and not having the finances to raise a child would be a disaster. Also, the idea parenting is a shared responsibility between the husband and wife. A father is equally responsible for taking care of a child as the mother. There are certain activities which only a father can do. Such as taking them to sports events or to a park to play football with them. Consequently, a kid who rarely sees one's father tends to build a negative impression around him and strengthen the bond with the mother alone. In addition to the above point, women of the present generation are much stronger, outgoing and open-minded than the conservative kind we see from the previous generation. They have started to come out of the "four walls" philosophy and are beginning to make a name for themselves in the society. With this prevalent in the culture of today, there is a need for shared responsibilities between parents. For example, A mother would drop the child to school and the father would pick them up in the evening. This idea of shared responsibilities not only builds trust between the parents, but also among the family as they spend enough time together. In conclusion, I would like to say that it is best we do away with the notion of dumping the parenting of a child to a woman and start opening our minds to sharing equal responsibility as parents. We should rather believe in shared parenthood to keep up with the family dynamics which keep changing with the times to come.