Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it is widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we should not follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in.

Throughout its history, mankind has paid a great deal of attention on what they wear. Nowadays fashion is well developed in Italy and France, which usually dictate new fashion trends to the world; however, it is difficult to follow the fashion trends since they are both so frequently updated, as frequently as once a month, and expensive. Thus, it is suggested that individuals should wear clothes which are neat and comfortable even if they are not fashion trend of the current season. Personally, I, who do not follow the trends, absolutely agree with those who consider following the trends is waste of time and money. Once a month in Milan or Paris a fashion week is held, where designers show the latest fashion trends. The presented clothes, which are not affordable for average people, are usually bizarre and uncomfortable to wear every day, which means it is difficult to follow the offered trends. Moreover, as new fashion trends appear frequently, there is a myriad of models of clothes in shops. People who intend to follow the trend, therefore, have to spend most of their time in malls. Thus, it seems to me that designers create new trends often in order to increase the sales since if individuals follow the trends, they have to update wardrobes every month. People who do not follow the new trends purchasing comfortable clothes saves money and time, which they can spend more meaningfully. I, for instance, buy clothes once a year, while my friend spends a huge amount of money annually on updating the wardrobe. He, therefore, has to work significantly more than I do in order not to be behind the new trends, which has an adverse effect on his family as he is often out of home. By contrast, I have more opportunity to save money for my children and to devote more time to my family rather than my friend. In conclusion, it might be both difficult and disadvantageous to stubbornly follow the new fashion trends, which appear so frequently, since they are costly and inconvenient for everyday wearing.