Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs- that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policy are necessary and should be implemented wherever possible.

Nowsaday, it is a common phenomenon that the government imposes heavy taxes on importation in order to provide better opportunity for its peasants. This trend is not restricted in developing or underdeveloped countries but also in the wealthier ones. However, the issue of whether this is beneficial or hazardous to a nation and its people remains a source of controversy. While there is a strong case for the former view, I am more inclined to the view that this policy might exert some detrimental effects on the society. On the one hand, those in favour of tariffs might state their reasons as follows. First and foremost, since imported products are more and even more expensive because of heavy taxes, people will consume more domestic products, developing domestic farming and making the country self-reliant. In other words, with protectionism, ryots will be able to gain more profits, enabling them to invest in modern agricultural technology. Moreover, this special taxes can also act as a source of revenue for the government which they can invest in various fields such as infrastructure and public facilities. For example, countries like Japan who have high rate of taxes on imported goods, have emphasised on the science education. This strong focus has led to numorous scientific achievements fostering productivity and innovation, which directly contributes to the prosperity and stability of the nation. On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that this policy might bring some deleterious impacts. Firstly, it is evident from recent research that this strategy will impede competition as consumers have to buy domestic foods, which might have lower quality, in order to save money. It is also experienced that the variety of products will decelerate and that some specific goods will be vanished as no one can afford it, there is no need for import. Furthermore, tariffs can even exert negative influence on the balance of trad between countries due to retaliation, worsening political interrelationships. The world has witnessed a long history of social unrests causing by heavy taxes. For instance, since America cannot export some goods to Cuba, they have impose embargo on imported cigarretes, putting both countries in a stormy relationship that are only become harmonious during recent years when the two trade delegations have met and set a deal. In conclusion, although imposing tariffs has its pros and cons, I find it more convincing to believe that this strategy is treacherous to the society and its consumers as many negative consequences can exert.