Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The issue of whether ancient buildings are relics of the past and should be preserved or superseded by modern buildings whose apperance might open a new horizon for the development of a nation has been a highly debated topic recently. While there is a strong case for the latter viewpoint, I am more inclined to the latter due to its validity. On the one hand, there are various reasons why many people argue that these old houses need to be knocked down and alternated. Firstly, in case of derelict ones, such experience of living in these shelters could be quite a nightmare to quite a few people. For instance, citizens of Hoi An are suffering frome a low-quality life in ancient streets. It is a common-scene to some that three to four households have only one toilet system with their walls painting layers bound to peel off and their ceilings sagging owing to weathering. Moreover, opponents have their points in the belief that these old, unsafe and dirty buildings should be demolished to give way to skyscapers to accommodate an ever-increasing number of people flocking to the city in hope for a better life. In this case, modern complex structures is an alternative approach to deal with the explosion of population in rural areas. On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that the heritage sites are corrolated to the reservoir of the glorious past of a nation. Philosophically speaking, like a person who clings to the past to reflect, views the present to enjoy and contemplates the future, a city itself entails an inextricable link of these three time axes to revise, thrive and fly. Another rationale would be that these historical monuments serve as amental panacea for hurry-sickness city dwellers and embodiment, symbolic of the unique architecture. Hardly can modern day artist recreate such beauties as that by famous ancestral architects of yesterdays who utilized the past materials and for that reason, some streets adorned with second-to-none buildings are ideal destination for the visitors worldwide to save themselves in the sense of serence old days. To those who are obsessed with the bustle and hustle of metropolitian life, these tiny ancient houses resemble oases to ease their stress. In conclusion, while it stands undeniable that each ideas has its own reasoning, from my perspective, the presence of ancient buildings is essential to the survival of any city for their originality and mesmeriziable destinations of travel lovers.