explain how the examples of tying shoes and learning to type demonstrate the principle of audience effects.

It is argued by some people that the study of history does not contribute to the wealth of knowledge today while other people believe that the assessment of notable events in the past is essential to understand life today. Although the world is now different from what it was some years back, I am of the view that learning about the past would reveal valuable lessons to imitate or avoid. On the one hand, some people argue the world had witnessed remarkable changes compared to what it used to be like in the past, which makes it difficult to benefit from studying history. In other words, the infrastructural developments and the level of technology in the past cannot be compared to the advancements at present and little information can be learnt from the past. For example, learning about the means of transportation used hundred years ago in certain parts of the world would neither add significantly to the present knowledge in that sector nor would it drive new advances in transportation. As a result, some think that learning about the past is not essential in our era. On the other hand, others believe that the studying history would reveal lessons valuable for life today. This is because within past events and experiences, are examples worthy of imitation as well as warming examples which need to be avoided. For instance, due to the study of history, many Nigerians know the dangers of authoritarian regimes and they do not support this form of government. At the same time, the recent clamours for resource control in Nigeria could be attributed to the awareness of the gains of the Nigerian regional government between 1960 and 1970. I support this view as the study of history will provide us with lessons which are still relevant. In conclusion, although some people think that history is irrelevant today, I disagree with this views as the study of the past will reveal avoidable mistakes and it will provide important lessons which can help us make appropriate decisions today.