"Excellence could be achieved only by competition. " or not? Give reasons and examples for your arguments.

No doubt, competition plays a vital role to make a person excellent. If we look at scenario then we will see that either it is school education or job scenario, everywhere competition spurred the person to perform the best in all. I strongly support the statement that competition is the only source of excellency. I believe that there is a myriad of ways competition makes people change their thought process to give their best. To begin with, the most efficient way to attain excellence is to make people feel motivated towards their goal. Definitely, Competition does this beautifully. I have a wonderful example of my life. When I was in school, I used to be lazy. In fact, I never put effort to do well in class. I had a mindset that being a mediocre student is ok. One day, my class teacher organized a competition that the student, who will achieve the best grades in science and maths will get three thousand Indian rupees money in the prize. First time I took anything so seriously. I really wanted to win that prize. I did hard work as well as I got myself to engage in study. As a result, I won that prize. Moreover, that competition worked like a catalyst in my life and inspired me to be a brilliant student at least in maths and science. Furthermore, another major advantage of competition is “ being involved”. In general, when say involved means “ with whole heart and mind “ This is crucial to achieving anything. It' s our human nature to get distracted or not paying attention to anything completely. For example, one of my friends was working on research experiments related to bioreactor. It' s been one years she did not produce good results. The same year she took participation in a research poster competition at an international conference. Although she performs well however another student got the award for the best poster presentation. After this competition, she produces the best data on her research and everyone in that lab was witnessed for this excellence achievement. Next year she got the “ best paper award” for her work. To wrap up, competition makes a person feel motivated to compete with the crowd and achieve “ the best”. Likewise people get involved in their work with full attention. I feel that these two characteristics are crucial to make a person excellent.