"Excellence could be achieved only by competition. " or not? Give reasons and examples for your arguments.

I am convinced by the fact that the government should take the ownership of banning toxic substances that harm the overall health of the society and should also be mindful of the well being of its citizens as well. This essay will discuss why imposing restrictions on alcohol and tobacco has become a debatable topic. Firstly, liquor and cigar industry is a booming business. Insipte of the recession this sector has not experienced a downward trend. Furthermore, there items are in high demand particularly among the youth. Secondly, a large portion of the government's revenue comes from the taxes on cigarettes. For example, the tobacco industry pays higher taxes to the ministry. Therefore, banning these substances will lead to loss of money which is used for the development of the country. However, despite the fact that liquor contributes a large portion of revenue to the administration, the health of the society needs to be kept in mind as these substances have a negative impact on the people of the country. Moreover, there are numerous diseases that are caused by the consumption of these substances. For instance, it has been proven that the intake of cigar causes cancer. Due to these reasons, any governing party should be watchful and control the use of addictive items. In conclusion, banning addictive items is not a solution as revenue collected from these sources is used for growth of the country. Imposing controlled restrictions will not only keep the overall health of the society in check but will also not impact flow of funds for administration.