Examine the arguments in favour of and against animal experiments, and come to a conclusion on this issue.

Issues related to animal experimentation are frequently discussed these days, particularly in the media. It is often said that animals should not be used in testing because it is cruel and unnecessary. This essay will examine the arguments for and against animal testing. I belong to a biology background and I strongly believe that animal testing is an essential and crucial part before releasing any product in the market. Pharmaceutical industries have to spend billions of dollars in research and development and it takes them years before the drug even reaches human testing. Without the testing on animals like mice and rabbits, it will be almost impossible to determine the effects and efficacy of the product on humans. Let’s look around us – from hair products to sunscreens to skin lightening creams to beard oils – every batch has gone through rigorous testing cycles before it was deemed suitable for use on humans. Let us ask ourselves this question: Would we buy any product on the market if we knew that it will cause an allergic reaction or may be fatal on application? The answer is very simple! Not one person would even touch these items and we would have no usable drugs/creams/lotions on the shelves. However, I do see the point of the group that is against animal testing. Organizations like PETA, seem to propagate -very vividly and graphically – the idea that animal testing is the cruelest thing ever. Animals are living creatures and we should not be subjecting them to tests for our profit. However, in arguments like this, one needs to weigh the pros and cons of the situation in a logical way. Although I am completely on board the idea that there definitely is an ethical conundrum surrounding animal testing, in my opinion, the pros of animal testing far outweigh the cons.