Essay topics: TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are certain considerations or factors which everyone can take into account to investigate and examine the advertisement represents to consumer a false and distorted image of the products promoted. I certainly believe that ads do not give us a true and honest picture of the products advertised. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons of each side. The explanations go as follows. Firstly, advertisers tend to exaggerate positive facets of products and conceal negative ones. In fact, the main goal of any commercial or ad is to sell the product by any means. Of course, there is a law which does not allow using an apparently false advertisement but the advertisers managed to overcome it by underscoring advantages and avoiding mentioning of disadvantages. As a result public get a distorted image of the products. In order to prove the stance, try to recall any ad which openly and explicitly states about the negative facets of the product. I do not thing that any ad will pop up in your mind. Secondly, in order to make us want to buy a certain product, advertisers promise us in commercials that we will feel in a certain way after the product is purchased and consumed. Those ads are directly addressed to our needs, dreams, wishes and unspoken desires. In other words, the creators of advertisements prescribe to the product unrealistic characteristics and features. For instance, we may take as an illustration any commercial of a luxury carmaker. If it is aimed a middle age man, we will see an actor with whom the viewer will be able to associate himself who gets attention of beautiful women who admire the driver. However, a person who bought the promoted car may never feel the promised emotions. Admittedly there are some justifications by one who argues that advertisement gives a true representation of the product. Chiefly, this may be the idea that if the commercial is a lie, no one will buy it. However, still I affirm that ads do not give us an evenhanded image because today we have a plethora of products with similar characteristics and in order to promote them advertisers have to make up some unrealistic features which will highlight the product among others. This is merely inevitable. Due to aforementioned ground, advertisement indeed gives us distorted representation via avoiding speaking about negative facets and emphasizing positive ones and promising us to satisfy our unspoken needs and desires.