TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a common myth that large sporting international events cause problems for the organisers and it is not worth hosting such events. In this essay, we will try to explore what are the advantages and disadvantages of hosting such events, and base our opinion on whether this myth is true if the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. There are many problems associated with holding such events, the first and foremost is the costs associated with holding such events. The hosting country has to provide boarding and lodging facilities to the guest teams. Similarly, huge number of sporting fans also arrive to watch the event and this may require building new infrastructure such as hotels, roads etc. The influx of the large number of people creates many problems such as traffic problems for the locals, Law and order problems as we seen in recent football tournaments that fans of opposing teams fight with each other inside the stadiums as well as on the roads which creates chaos in the hosting city. The positive impacts or advantages includes a boost in tourism for the hosting country. This helps in bringing foreign exchange as people come from all over the world to attend these events, and they use local services such as hotels, transport and do shopping in the local markets and all of this creates a positive economic impact for the host nation. These events are also seen as a source of pride for the hosting nation and create interest in the youth towards sports. This brief comparison of the pros and cons of holding international sporting events suggests that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and the myth that these events cause problems and these events are not worth hosting in not true. I strongly believe that these events should organise as they have a positive social and economic impact on the host country.