Essay topics: TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree, modern technology has dramatically changed the way we communicate through writing. However, despite the increased use of computers f, the skill of handwriting remains important in education, employment and in everyday life. In my essay, I would discuss the need for parents to encourage their children to write by hand. Firstly, writing by hand is very vital for the development of visual-motor skills in a child. A good hand-eye coordination helps stimulate his brain activity as it involves more complex motor and cognitive skills, therefore, compelling a youngster to improve his pen craft at early stages of learning, could help him perform better academically. But nowadays, the digital age has substituted writing with network communication tools, which impacts negatively on the youngsters. For example, a young student who is used to writing his notes and project reports by hand would be more dynamic in his academics compared to a student who uses computers extensively. Secondly, a good handwriting will have a positive impact on one’s personality and health. Calligraphy which helps in self-cultivation, inculcates the qualities of patience, willingness to learn and persistence. Nevertheless, calligraphy is a predictor of success in other subjects, because good scripting has a positive impact on grades. For instance, Chinese believe that if one is good at scripting, he will excel at being a virtuous person. Likewise, cursive writing is proven to help students, both young and old, to overcome dyslexia. It is evident that, great writing prowess has significant benefits, so, a parent should definitely insist his child to develop a long hand practice, which will be valuable for him. Adults should boost their offspring to use more of pen and paper, so that, their health and future are both profited.