Essay topics: TOPIC # 56 A company is going to give some money either to support the arts or to protect the environment. Which do you think the company should choose?

Art is a very important part of our life. It reflects our culture and our development, so we should improve our art significantly to appear our progress. On the other hand, we have to protect our environment so we can live in a good manner and healthy one. If a company is going to give money either to support arts or to protect the environment, personally, I think the company should give that currency to save our environment for two imperative reasons. To begin with, there are a lot of pollution nowadays. We all know that pollutants are increasing because of the progress in technology and in industry that affects our existence negatively. For example, when I was in pharmacy school, our environmental professor explained to us that we face many challenges about pollution such as cars that emit poisnous gases and they impact our health, especially, our lung because we breathe these gases and may cause cancer. In addition, he stated that plastic has another negative effect in our life because it doesn' t decompose and if government bury plastic underground, this will effect our ecosystem. In fact, farmers will not be able to plant crops which are necessary for our life and even for animals. Besides, industrial wastes have another problems and we can not ignore them. Actually, he said that these wastes will effect the ocean and if companies will continue to throw the wastes in the water, we will not be able to drink water and the see animals will be affects badly. As we can clearly see we should save our environment to protect ourselves. Second, the human activity has made our environment badly to live and this will produce a lot of problems for us. Mankind needs a lot of things to survive in the earth such as food, shelter and even health so human demands put a lot of negtive things on the environment. For instance, three weeks ago, I read an article about how human activity will definitely has negtive effects on the environment. The author asserts that needing for trees to build houses is increased and many trees are cut down and this will decrease the green house gases to the atmosphere and will effect the global temperatures tremendously. He adds that cutting trees will also destruct the natural habitat of animals and this will help to extinct them gradually, so we have to make a plan to manage our needs and our existance to survive. The article talks about that endangered animals means loss opportunity of find a drug since most of medicines are from animals. This book taught me that government should pay attention for all these that will affect our future. By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I firmly concur that government should spend money to protect our environment. Our world is worthwhile and specious to our existence.