A company is going to give some money either to support the arts or to protect the environment. Which do you think the company should choose? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Critics throughout the city have debated whether the company should money on arts or projects that directly connected to environmental protection. In spite of the potential earnings on artistic investment, the ensuing benefits of environmental protection is now becoming increasingly concerned by the stakeholders. This essay will analyse both views and use the examples from Hong Kong to demonstrate points. To begin with, investing on artistic facilities is intuitively perceived as a profitable business. The central reason behind this stems from the fact that arts is growing in importance. In fact, the majority of visitors of art galleries and museums admitted that their productivity enormously recovered after a monthly visit to these buildings. Moreover, it must not be forgotten that the art pieces installed in art galleries or museums can inspire innovation for various business sectors. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that arts, to a considerable extent, is worth investing regarding its business potential. Although there is a case for art galleries or museums translating into a promising business, the ensuing improvement of living quality begot by supporting environmental protection cannot be neglected. This is largely because the urban sprawling and industrialisation has led to massive pollution, which in turn casted detrimental effects to our health. For instance, the Environment Committee established that there has been evidently a surge in percentage of air pollutants at the road side since 2000. Consistent with this line of thinking is that the incidences of lung cancer could have declined significantly if more trees were planted on streets to counteract the pollution given by growing population. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that investing environmental friendly campaign such as greening the residential area increases the likelihood on gaining acceptance from the public. In conclusion, supporting artistic development could generate a significant amount of revenue, yet the investment on environmental protection that enriching the well-being of our descendants are by far more essential to a metropolitan city. Given the increasing awareness of public health, it is predicted that the company will choose to spend money on environmental protection.