TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Are parents today more embroiled in their progeny' s education than were our mothers and fathers? Although some people may give a negative answer on the question, I am prone to buttress it because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below. Firstly, role of parents in today' s society has undergone significant changes since the time of our parents. Norms of appropriate parental behavior has altered enormously and deeds which used to be considered normal and healthy now may have dire consequences for parents. For instance, parents' attention to child' s education used to be optional but now being deeply involved in offspring' s education is not a respectful norm but a duty. A parent who does not demonstrate an interest to child' s life, studying may easily lose his child because the social service may take the neglected child away. Thus parents have to be engulfed in offspring' s life and education is one of the important aspects of offspring’s life. Secondly, contemporary parents have modern technology which allows them being involved in children' s education much more easily. In the past our predecessors did not have a constant contact with educators and school staff. In fact, the majority of parents saw teachers of their youngsters twice a year. Thus, the parents’ involvement was miniscule. However, today the school system has employed such new technology as the internet in general and social networks in particular. For instance, almost all schools are represented on the social web-sites such as Facebook. Additionally to it, many teachers created accounts for their classes as well. Thus today' s father, who is subscribed to the child' s class Facebook page, are well-informed about child' s performance in school, about subjects taught as well as about pupil' s homework. Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person to state that our fathers and mothers were deeper involved in our education. Chiefly, the person may aver that parents used to help their children with homework and consequently they were closer to the progeny. However, I still affirm that helping one' s child with homework does not equal being submerged in the child' s education process. In fact, our fathers and mother were only occasionally involved in our studying but today' s parents are involved constantly. They keep in touch with teachers via cell phones; they monitor children' s marks online; this is another level of involvement. To wrap up, contemporary parents are more involved in offspring' s education because social prospect on the issue has changed dramatically, additionally to it, the advent of modern technology let the parents be submerged in students' performance constantly as a result they a way deeper involved in the process o education then our mothers and fathers used to be.