Essay topics: Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects since they occupy more than twenty wife percent of the time children spend studying at school. Some teachers think that these disciplines are important to teach at school while others claim that they are nonproductive. This essay agrees with the idea that art is redundant in school curriculum for the following reasons. The main reason why I think that art subjects are wasteful is that there are more important subjects to teach at schools. After graduation, many young people get employed as engineers, economists, and lawyers. As a result, while they study at school, they should study more necessary subjects, including maths, physics and history, than music and literature, which have a useless impact on their future employment. If they stopped squandering time on art, they would have a greater chance to compete with other qualified employees in the labor market. However, some teachers claim that it is necessary for children to study art at school. They say that by studying it, children would learn to appreciate the beauty of the world. If art were excluded from school syllabus, then they would be unaware of beautiful pictures, songs and theater plays. Consequently, they would feel inferior to those who study art as an extra-curriculum activity. For example, in the former USSR, because they were not taught art at school, many students found it unpleasantly difficult to answer the questions, which are mostly regarding art, asked by students from the USA. In conclusion, although art is essential in life, students can learn apart from school subjects. I believe that pupils should stop studying art disciplines and concentrate more on other subjects, such as physics and maths, as they can improve their career prospects.