Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Nowadays, companies seek to know more information about their potential employees through asking about, how they spend their free time, what they enjoy the most as well as relationship status. Although some people are in favour of it, others strongly against it. I think as work takes almost a quarter of our day, it should be related to our interests. On the one hand, much as knowing more about the workers seems beneficial for the company’s decision making, employers should only be concerned about working skills. Whether this individual is capable of getting the job done and under no circumstances his personal life status should affect the outcome of the interview. For example, Steve Job had such a rude attitude toward workers and since he has no hobbies, he tended to push workers to work over ninety hours a week. However, he managed to invent the most revolutionary device of our era. On the other hand, in order to determine which position is suitable, employers need to acquire more knowledge about the new workers through questions that might seem irrelevant to many people. Furthermore, it is believed that different characters are fit to do different sets of work regardless of their experience or academic background. For instance, Elon Musk is a physics graduate leading the electric automobile industry, which actually has nothing to do with his university education nor experience. But the fact that he enjoys creating and thinking out of the box lead him to these achievements. To conclude with, it is common for companies ask employees for personal questions. Despite the fact that some people feel uncomfortable answering and think it is not related to the purpose of the interview, I believe it is essential for companies to know such information in order to give the right position foe the right person.