Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. if these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. in your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Teaching English at school is often considered prior to teaching local languages, which endangers these languages and put them at a risk of extinction. Many believe that the younger generation is getting more immersed in English, forgetting all about their own language. However, is learning English that important? English is a universal language that is spoken worldwide. It's easy to learn and pick up quickly. It’s a handy language that one can make use of and provides lots of opportunities, not only professionally but also academically. For instance, English can help you study abroad or work in an international or multinational organization. Moreover, it can augment your chances of finding a better job. That is all aside from being able to communicate with foreigners and learn more about foreign cultures and traditions. And that's why I believe that it is essential that everyone learns English. Nevertheless, that doesn't mean that local languages should be ignored. It's important that we sustain our mother tongue as it is part of our culture. That's why it should be nourished. There are several ways to ensure that local languages remain intact. That is through teaching them at local schools, providing free sessions at local communities where everyone can practice and enhance their language, teaching the locals the history of their language. . . Etc. In conclusion, local languages shouldn't be neglected as they constitute a part of our identity, if anything, they should flourish blossom. But the rising demand for English is hard to ignore, which makes learning English a priority that one can't neglect.