Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

When it comes to sharing personal information such as hobbies, marital status, interests, etc. , with an employer, people are divided on two opposite camps. While one group of people believes this information could be useful, others advocate that there is no value in such sort of data. In this essay pros and cons will be analyzed before my own prospective is given. One the one hand, there are benefits of collecting information about potential employees, including their hobbies, lifestyle, marital status, etc. This is because such kind of information could help employers to select candidates more carefully and suggest the best offer to them. For example, a position that requires travel frequently to various cities, most likely, will not suit a person who leads a sedentary lifestyle. In additional, in some realms such as an IT, it is important to support a high team spirit, so, in this case, selecting people with the same hobbies and interests could be beneficial. On the other hand, there are some demerits in gathering personal information from job candidates. This information could distract employers from the professional skills of the candidate. Moreover, it can lead to discrimination. For example, an interviewer can choose a person only because they share the same hobbies, but not for their professional skills and abilities. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the merits of collecting personal information from candidates overweigh the drawbacks. This data can help employers provide applicants with the best job positions that not only suited their professional skills, but also, their hobbies.