University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

As the number of University students who go overseas to study is increasing, people are debating about the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? This essay shows that although pursuing education in another country is costly and often distracting to students, it is far more beneficial to them due to the new learning and personality development opportunities offered by overseas study. Getting educated abroad is helpful in developing personal skills in students. Because students studying in foreign countries are faced with challenges of coping with new culture, norms, and standards, they develop a balanced personality during the process of overcoming these challenges. In addition, students learn new ways of living life as they interact with different people who have their own ways of leading their lives. For example, in a recent study, overseas study has proven to produce well-balanced graduates from among students in another country. However, foreign study is criticised by many because it is often costly. To pursue education in another country, students have to buy plane tickets as well as their own accommodation whereas they can live with their parents in their home country during studies. Furthermore, going to another country takes the focus away from studies as they get busy sorting out their day-today matters. If they pursue education in this own country, these issues would not be present. In conclusion, even though studying in another country is costly and causes focus issues for students, it creates a balanced personality among graduates and offers them new ways of learning about life. That is why, I believe, the advantages of overseas study win over the disadvantages.