Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Most of the time, the details asked in an online job application or the resumes that get circulated is not limited to one's professional life. They also enquire and ask for personal details like the marital status of the applicant, their hobbies, and other interests apart from the stream they are pursuing. While some feel that sharing of this information is relevant and useful, rest think otherwise. In my opinion, I agree that employers should be made aware of some of the personal details as it is beneficial for both the company and the interested candidate. Firstly, sharing details of oneself helps the company in filtering the resume as per their requirement for the post applied for. In other words, information about whether a candidate is married will give an idea of the salary package that the candidate will expect considering the people dependent on him or if he will be a suitable pick for a position that requires him to travel frequently on work. For example, a company established in Bangalore might require a person who will have to manage another branch located in North India. A married man settled with his family and children in Bangalore might not be the right choice considering his commitment needed towards his family. Thus reducing time in selecting the right person by using personal details. Another point to be considered for sharing of information related to their interests is how it can increase the chances of the applicant in finding a job he is more interested in and inclined towards rather than limiting it to the educational or the professional accomplishments. For instance, resumes often get circulated from companies to companies from word of mouth and requirement. It sometimes happens that the hobbies expressed might catch one's eye and gets discussed with an employee who might require a person with the skill of the applicant and get approached for a job opportunity. In conclusion, though some people disagree about giving personal details while applying for jobs, I am of an opinion that this information helps both the employer and the employee.