Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Company owners take extra details of personal level from their employees before employing them in their companies. Therefore, some people agree that it helps company to judge their workers in a better way. While, some contradict this by saying that it is completely useless. I personally believe that it is the right of the business domain to know about the details related to a worker’s life. This essay will discuss this scenario, using the examples of Oxford University Research and Time Magazine survey to demonstrate points and support claims. On the one hand, some people advocate that the details related to a personal life is a must to know thing for any organization. Because, you can’t know the attitude of an employee without knowing its habits or life style. Furthermore, it also helps to decide the salary brackets of that person –married gets more as compared to bachelor. For example, Oxford University in 2015 researched on the employers right to know about the lives of those working with them and find out that companies will go in loss if they stop keeping their employee personal records. So, from this example it is clear, that personal information is the right of employer to know. On the other hand, some people consider this a fruitless activity. As employees sometimes lie about their skills and habits. Additionally, people want to keep their official life separate from their own life. Similarly, a survey of Time Magazine suggests the same story, that 60% people don’t like that their managers ask about their personal life. So, from this examples, it is clear that some people are very touchy about their own life and they don’t want it to share it even with their bosses. To conclude, being possessive about own life is good, but business is also a second home of every person. So, in my view, it is useful to keep full worker details either it is personal or not, in any organization. In the future, it is better that governments will legalize this by making it compulsory for job personals to share their basic information with their employing domains.