Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interest, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

In this dynamic world, the employers from all the fraternities prefer to acquire the personal details of their interviewees. Many intellectuals opine that it is an essential data to evaluate the candidate, whereas others consider it as a worthless. This essay will discuss both the views of the above notion, along with my opinion further. To begin with, the former view insists to evaluate the technical skill, as well as characteristics of the applicants by knowing their hobbies and interests. In this competitive era, the companies always looking for the skilled and enthusiastic employees. The marital status and hobbies of an individual helps the firm to analyse his ambition and efficiency. For example, the employee having the single status could devote ample time to his professional life as compared to married people. Moreover, the candidate associated with the sports games is likely to be more punctual, cooperative and energetic. Thus, the personal information of the applicant is helpful to the employer to evaluate him. On the other hand, the latter view illustrates the irrelevance of the personal data to the performance of a person at the workplace. In most of the professional work don't link to the personal preferences. Hence, it is not feasible to predict the effectiveness of a person by his personal characteristics. For instance, the monotonous work in the industry does not influence by the workers personal hobbies of interest; he must have to complete the work by his practical skills. Therefore, the inquiries about the personal details at the time of the interview is not relevant. In conclusion, the innovative scrutiny process in the companies puts emphasis on not only the technical skills, but also several personal questions. In my opinion, the enhanced technique of the former view is fruitful for the employers to extract the gems from the human resources; containing multiple skills and innovative ideas.