Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interest, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Firms sometimes request from people seeking for employments for private details. Although some people believe that such information may be necessary, other dispute this and argue that it is irrelevant. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and explain my support for the latter view. On the one hand, those who believe that such demands is important might argue that it will enable the company to select from the pool those whom they think is best fit for the role. Organization will not want to employ people with a history of negligence. For instance, The New York Times recently reported that 90% of recruiters who demanded for confidential information from prospective job seekers were successful in recruiting the best for the position compared to those who did not. Nevertheless, if those recruited had not succeeded in the role, demanding for such details will thus be irrelevant. On the other hand, I would argue that asking for such details is irrelevant. This is not a yardstick on how well prospective applicant will perform on the task. For example, The Sunday Times recently reported that 97% of job seekers who did not provide their personal information before they got employed performed extremely well on the role compared to those who had submitted their details. Notwithstanding, if they hand not performed better, demanding for such information would have become necessary. In conclusion, although some people believe that requesting for private details is very essential as it enable the organization to recruit the best, I strongly believe that such request is not necessary as it has no impact on work performance.