Education is not a luxury but a basic human right & as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. ’

In this day and age, the topic of whether or not to consider education as a fundamental right for everyone is one which bears some consideration. It is the opinion of this writer that the facts are on the side of those who believe education is a basic right and should be provided for free. Firstly, education affects people’s personalities. By being able to distinguish between right and wrong, they can protect and take care of themselves by means such as avoiding negative temptations like drugs and alcohols, which might lead to criminal activities. That can also help also helps build up positive personalities in people. Secondly, having a certain level of understanding helps ease their lives. Schools provides both basic and advanced knowledge which will assist people in their career, giving them chances to have a job and create income for their families. They will have enough money for their needs, interests and maybe be able to overcome poverty. Lastly, more important than one’s own benefits is the country’s development. If everyone is educated, there will be an increase in people‘s intellectual standards and human resources. Society, national security and domains such as the economy, finance, education, health and medicine will be developed when more potential and talented people are trained. One excellent example is Finland. Since the government provided their residents with free education, the country‘s economy has shot up and Finland has now become one of the richest countries in the world with a GDP around $35000. Thus it can be seen that education not only affects one’s personality and income, but also is the root of a country‘s peace and prosperity. Therefore, it should have been abundantly demonstrated that education should be available as a basic right for all regardless of individual wealth.