Economic growth is the only way to end world poverty. However, some people says it leads to environment damage and should be stopped.

The world has remarkably developed economically over recent years. Some people think economic development is the only solution to stop poverty in the world, whereas others believe that the advancement, today, is damaging our planet so stopping it is a necessity. This essay will discuss why economic growth is relatively necessary and why it should not be entirely stopped despite environmental destruction. On the one hand, economic growth has considerably contributed to improve the life quality of people living in underdeveloped and developing countries. Over recent years, the number of impoverished people decreased around the world, especially in Third World Countries. For example, the number of poor people who lack of food has halved in some African countries such as Nigeria, Namibia and Ghana. Moreover, today, less children are dying due to lack of water, food and medicine than before in these countries. Therefore, economic developments should not be ended as long as it contributes to alleviate impoverishment On the other hand, despite the considerable advantages of economic advancement, it plays a destructive role in the nature. Speaking clearly, the economic development has resulted in climate change which puts the future of the planet at risk. For instance, the idea of steady advancement is causing deforestation, air pollution, sea pollution, the loss of huge glaciers, the loss of wild. In other words, all these factors have caused climate crisis and global warming result from these factors. However, economic advancements can also create solutions to fight against the fact of global warming just as it has been a solution to poverty. To illustrate, developed countries can raise national budgets to find radical solutions, which can help to stop climate, crisis, and support financially and cooperate with environment protection organizations. Hence, humanity can benefit from economic growth to protect environment. In conclusion, I partly agree with the view that economic advancements have played a role in damaging the planet. However, the economic development can be a solution both to reduce poverty and to protect the environment.