Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is individuals responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

It thought by some that it is the responsibility of those in in authority to reduce the intake of sugary food by individuals, while others are of the view that individuals should be in control of their sugar intake. In my opinion, I consider that the government should increase the taxes paid by sugary food industry in order to curtail this behaviour. This essay would discuss both opinions, and provide a logical conclusion. On the one hand, some people think that the government should impose a higher tariff on sugary food, and I agree with them. If this is done, the prices on sugary substances will be increased by the manufacturers, or sellers of these products, thus, making it expensive for individuals to purchase. Because of the expensive nature of food containing sugar, individuals will be forced to abstain from it, therefore, making them limit their sugar consumption. As an illustration, as a result of the higher tariff paid by alcohol sellers in the UK, this lead to an increase in the price of alcohol, and there has been a drastic reduction in the consumption of alcohol by the individuals resident in UK. This is according to the report released by Bloomberg in 2015. On the other hand, it is believed by some people that individuals are in the best position to control their sugar intake. This is because they know their health status better, and can limit it when they are aware that their blood sugar level has increased. However, I disagree with this view, as not all individuals actually go for checkup to ascertain their blood sugar level, and this exposes them to health risk. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe that those in authority are in the best place to help limit individual's sugar consumption by imposing higher tariff on food containing sugar.