Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity.

Annually, there is a rise in the occurrence of crime. This essay will discuss the causes of atrocities such as poverty and single Parenthood, and also Creation of employment opportunities as a solution. To begin with, poverty is a cause of crime in the society. This occurs because, some individuals lack means to fend for themselves due to lack of resources, therefore, they get involved in criminal activities so that they can cater for their basic needs and also have a means of livelihood. For instance, an individual may not earn much, but has multiple issues to cater for has would likely be involved in theft so he can solve his problems. Also, Single parent family is another factor that influences criminal- occurrence. The children raised by single parents are often linked with inappropriate social vices because, they do not have good parental upbringing as compared to those raised by both parents. To illustrate, a majority of young adults arrested due to theft were from broken homes. However, the incidence of social vices can be reduced by improving employment opportunities. If, people are busy with work, there would be less chances of criminal thoughts, also, livelihood will be improved. Hence, needs would be met. For example, a community had reports of antisocial behaviour, therefore, government personnels sponsored skill acquisition for the youths, thus, they became self employed, this led to a reduction in the occurrence of theft. In conclusion, lawlessness is an issue caused by lack and single Parenthood. Although, these problems can be curbed by creating employment.