Each year the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

It seems that the crime rate is considerably increasing nowadays. Despite all attempts of governments and societies to prevent this social and economic phenomenon, it appears that proposed solutions are not able to reduce the crime rate unless they consider underlying root causes of this issue. The first root cause, and perhaps the most influential one, is unemployment, and its consequent financial problems. That is to say, jobless people, who are not able to afford their basic needs, are more likely to commit a crime. To tackle this problem, the government should attempt to improve the financial state, so that companies would employ more people. The next step would be devoting financial support for remained unemployed citizens until they can find a proper job. Therefore, the government can assure that almost all people no more commit a crime to make ends meet. Although poverty is considered the main reason for committing a crime, many individuals, especially adolescents, become criminals because of peer pressure. It would be seriously hard for juveniles to ignore what their surrounding people persuade them to perform. For example, many juvenile crimes, like graffiti and vandalism, are performed simply by enforcement of law-breaker friends. To deal with this issue, parents and schools should warn youngsters about this kind of pressure and train them to avoid such friendships. In addition, violent contents on media have noticeably increased recently, and thus, a significant number of criminals have been encouraged to commit a crime. Restricting the production of these programs would be an advisable solution. Moreover, TV channels and other producers should label all shows with age-related warnings, So that Parents can effectively control what their children can watch to minimize the adverse effects. To sum up, crime is a highly important issue for all societies. Governments, media, schools, and families, should assist in removing the contributing factors, such as poverty resulted from joblessness, juvenile circumstances, and media impacts.