News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in a newspaper. What factors do you think influence their decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in a newspaper. There are two factors that influence their decisions. The first is the kind of customers they aim at. Because each kind of readers and watchers has its own features. For example, if your customers are almost entirely teenagers, you have to concentrate on something attracting them such as stories, photographs of singer stars, film stars, funny tales, and fashion. It will be very silly if you try to provide teenagers with economic or politic news. On the contrary, besiness men and politicians may never read news about James Blunt or Keira Knightley. Therefore, what influences news editors’ decisions the most is the taste of their customers. The second factor is how hot and attractive the news is. Who will reads or watch news from a year or a month ago or even about something that happened last week? The answer is nobody absolutely. In the energetic and competitive world nowadays, people always ask for a really new news. So that to satisfy customers, there is a pressure on all editors to find continually what has already happened not only yesterday but even an hour ago. Or else, they may lose their customers. None of editors wants that bleak future. The type of news is also an important consideration. Whether on television or in newspapers, we seem to get more of and become used to bad news. It is harder for us to come across a piece of good news. We can’t deny that bad things happen on Earth day by day. However, news editors try to gain more and more customer, which means more and more money, using bad news as a magnet. Because bad news makes us curious. We want to know why it is bad, what it is about, whether it influences us or not. As a result, we will buy newspapers or watch television to find out. And the happiest people are, of course, news editors. In my view it would be better if more good news were reported. Bad news makes us worry and sad. Whereas good news makes us happy. There should an an equal amount of good and bad news. In that way we can give something bad a lot of thought while still being happy about the good news. Any inequalities between good news and bad news should be avoided. Nowadays we cannot live without news, and for that reason the role of news editors became very important. We should support them, and in turn they should try their best to provide us with useful news, both good and bad.