Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

In recent years, the increasing crime rate has become a major concern around the world due to its substantial impacts on human life. Understanding the root causes behind criminal activity is key to finding solutions to prevent the rise of it. There are two main reasons for which people would commit crimes. First, the lack of education, either at school or in their family, is a decisive cause for not being able to find a job, which eventually leads to illegal activities, such as stealing or even murdering. In fact, researchers proved that regions with a higher rate of illiteracy tend to have more criminals than educated ones. Second, the punishment is not tough enough to act as a deterrent for those who would want to break the law. For example, Vietnamese women are susceptible to sexual assaults as offenders would only be fined a small amount of compensation for the victims. Nevertheless, there are also two best strategies to put a stop to the rise of the crime rate. The first is to provide citizens with access to education or give them vocational training so that they can develop skills required for obtaining a job. If the level of unemployment decreases, the crime rate will drop consequently, and people will live in a more peaceful society. In addition, lawmakers should enact more strict laws to punish the criminals and protect the victims. Plenty of evidence has suggested that the rising of fines for illegal activities resulting in the less likelihood of committing crimes. In conclusion, people commit crimes mainly because of the lack of comprehensive education and training, as well as the law is not able to discourage them from doing wrong. Raising the level of literacy and passing reasonable laws are the most important ways to prevent the rise in criminal activity.