During the last century, the use of cars has increased dramatically. This has caused problems such as pollution and overcrowded roads. Why do people buy cars and what can we do to stop people from buying them?

The percentages of people using cars have increased significantly compared to 100 years ago which has caused environmental and congestion problems. This is mainly because of the lack of public transportation modes in the city. There are several solutions need to be implemented for preventing more people to use cars. First of all, one of the main reasons of the overly used cars is due to the lack of facilities to transport. This situation triggers a lot of people to own a private vehicle, such as cars and bikes, because the need to travel from one place to another. For example, before train from Jakarta to Bandung was established, people would use a car to travel there. Consequently, traffic jam and bad air pollution cannot be avoided. That's why, governments need to improve public transportations, so the number of car usage will slowly but surely go down. Secondly, the government needs to create more and also maintain public transport facilities. Even though some big cities have already made several public transportation for people to use, but due to the lack of supervisions, people start to find it uncomfortable and inconvenient using those facilities. As a result, some citizens will once again using cars as their main accomodation. For instance, a dirty train with a lot of mice and insects will disgust a lot of people. Thus, not only constructing public transportation is important, but also the need of maintenance is crucial. In conclusion, the needs of people to travel have increased the number of cars on the streets. If the government plan to solve this problem, public transports have to be created and also maintained at the same time.