Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

The general idea of grocery shopping has come a long way, from little shops to gigantic grocery stores. Due to greater presence of these large super stores, many of the local shops are now facing closure. Some believe that local communities are threatened by this. I completely disagree with this argument, as I believe that there are many benefits to the locals with the development of these large stores. Large organisations help the local economy. In other words, whenever a multinational grocery store opens up in our local neighbourhood, usually they are gigantic in size. Meaning that the store itself would require a greater amount of staffs ranging from cleaners to the store cashiers. This would definitely aid to mitigate the unemployment rate creating many jobs. Furthermore, many of these organisations tend to purchase locally manufactured products to minimise the production cost and to gain the maximum amount of profits. For example, items that have limited time constraints also known as perishable foods such as, milk, cheese and fresh fruit would be purchased from local farmers which will also assist the local economy. A place where local youth can hang out. Many of the large grocery stores are adapting the concept of one-stop-shop, meaning many of these stores have a kids play area or cafe's where, mothers can do their weekly groceries while their kids play or an adult can enjoy a cup of coffee at the cafe within the store. For instance, I myself usually go to my local supermarket on every Sunday and enjoy a cup of tea along with a piece banana bread while reading the news paper. This has now become a trend between many youths in the region creating peace and harmony. In conclusion, the development of supermarkets does not harm the local communities, in fact, they would help to boost the economy and also, create peace and harmony between the local young generation.